If you like The Fray, you will love Snow Patrol 

for Snow Patrol Tour Dates and available Snow Patrol Tickets

Snow Patrol Band Members

More About Snow Patrol:
Snow Patrol is an alternative rock bank, with members from Northern Ireland and Scotland. Snow Patrol formed as "Shrug" at the University of Dundee in Dundee, Scotland in 1994. The band is now based in Glasgow, Scotland. Snow Patrol consists of Gary Lightbody (lead vocals, rhythm guitar, piano), Michael Morrison (drummer) and Mark McClelland (bass guitar, backup vocals), all from Northern Ireland. The band started by performing gigs at the university and surrounding pubs such as Lucifer's Mill. In 1995, they changed their name to Polar Bear to avoid issues with an American band also named Shrug. Shortly after, Mike Morrison left the band after suffering a breakdown to return to Northern Ireland. The band again renamed, this time to Snow Patrol. At this point, Jonny Quinn joined as permanent drummer.

Snow Patrol's first EP (under the name Shrug), called the "Yoghurt vs Yoghurt debate", was a rousing success. In mid 1997, "Polarbear" released a three-track EP, Starfighter Pilot, on the Electric Honey label. After their final name change, the band released their next EP "Little Hide" on Jeepster Records while still living in Dundee. A follow-up single "One Hundred Things You Should Have Done in Bed" was a minor independent chart hit. Two albums on Jeepster followed: Songs for Polarbears in 1998 and When It's All Over We Still Have to Clear Up in 2001. Snow Patrol gained mainstream success with their song "Run", as well as the album it was from, the 2003 release, Final Straw, produced by Jacknife Lee. The record peaked at #3 in the UK albums chart while in the U.S. the album notched up well in excess of a quarter of a million sales and became the 26th most popular album in the UK of that year. Snow Patrol released their latest album, A Hundred Million Suns, on October 24, 2008 in Ireland, and October 27 in the UK and US. Gary Lightbody revealed that the band is recording some new songs that are set to release later in 2009. Gary Lightbody also commented that the band felt the songs act as a "bridge" between A Hundred Million Suns and the next album.

Musicians like Bono from U2, Michael Stipe from R.E.M., Nikki Sixx and Tommy Lee from Motley Crue declared in interviews their admiration for Snow Patrol. The band was nominated for three BRIT Awards and has won five Meteor Ireland Music Awards. Worldwide, the band has sold over 7 million copies of their fifth studio album A Hundred Suns. Look for Snow Patrol's next album and tour dates near you!



© 2018 TheFrayTickets.com
Terms of Service